History

Our School History 

Founded in 1998 by the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, The College was named in honour of Bishop William Tyrrell, the First Bishop of Newcastle. Travelling from his home in England, Bishop Tyrrell arrived in Sydney on January 16th, 1848 to start his tenure over the new diocese which included 17 parishes. He was well-known for his passionate advocacy for the reform of religious education in schools, as well as making quality education more accessible and affordable. Bishop Tyrrell’s legacy continues to serve as inspiration for our school today.  

Classes first took place on our Fletcher campus in 1999, with 46 primary school students in attendance. We now have over 770 students from Preschool right through to Year 12. 

Bishop Tyrrell Anglican College was established as a Christian learning community. This remains one of our core principles as we strive to provide a values-based learning experience designed to inspire students to learn, lead and serve. 

Our campus is also rich in history, and some of our buildings are part of Newcastle's heritage. At the heart of the College sits the historic Styles Grove mansion, built in 1878 and once home to James Fletcher, the first member of parliament in Newcastle. Our suburb was also named Fletcher in his honour. Styles Grove was originally used by the school for classes, but now serves as our Administration Building. 

The College is a member of the Association of Independent Schools of NSW (AIS). Further associations have been made with other Diocesan and independent schools in the Hunter region, including the Hunter Region Independent Schools (HRIS) Association.